On Economics Programm

Research Potential Foundation

Economics program

The grant application program in the field of economics has been created in order to support original research projects. Initially, we followed a regular procedure that stipulated a competition of proposals and funding of the winning projects, with the project participants' efforts being narrowed to report writing. However, the results of such researches were mostly unavailable for general public although they could be transformed into scientific articles or any other profound works. We wanted to see more significant results of the Foundation activities. In 2004, a decision was taken to change the Economics program format - making it more industry focused. Projects were regarded as a foundation for writing and publishing monographs.

The past four years showed that this approach matched the applicants' motivation. Any serious researcher would like to summarize the outcomes of his or her years-long work in a monograph. Every author (and the Foundation management) would like their works to sell well instead of piling up on the bookshop racks - stimulating publishers to release more copies. This is basically what we sought.

How could we achieve this result if Moscow's and other cities' book shops were flooded with editions of all sorts? With tough competition, catching the readers' attention in such fields as bookkeeping, management, micro- and macroeconomics was quite a challenge. It seemed at times that industry-specific books were cloned like detective stories.

We focused on unexplored themes that were important to Russia. Of course, the participants' expertise and the conformity of their applications to our criteria also mattered. One of our objectives was to find out how knowledgeable authors were in their fields; interviewing the applicants (whose requests have been preliminarily approved for funding) helped us in that matter. We are pleased to admit that we were not mistaken in most cases.

The very first monograph that opened the new-format Economics program was a success. It was a profound investigation into the Islamic economy performed by two experts in the history of economics. There is so much talk about the role of Islam in the modern life! Incorrect speculations are suggested in this regard (some even predict an upcoming clash of civilizations). But there wasn't an unbiased, thorough and comprehensive scientific analysis of economies based on the Islamic religion values. Shortly after the book by N. Ulchenko and N. Mamedova Specific Economic Development of the Modern Islamic States (studying Turkey and Iran) was released, it was sold out. Exploring a specific topic, the book attracted a wide audience.

Other economic books enjoyed similar popularity: A. Razumov's and M. Yagodkina's Poverty in Modern Russia, V. Ratushnyak's and V. Kupman's Reviews of Socio-economic Development of the Northwest Caucasus Under Market Economy. Another fresh release is the Foundation-financed S. Ryazantsev's Migrant Labor in the CIS and Baltic States. Trends, Consequences, Regulations.

Many requests that we selected attracted us as they focused on socio-economic and humanitarian topics standing at the crossroads of many disciplines including history, geography, sociology, culture history, etc. We are also interested in projects aimed at investigating the socio-economic development of Russia's particular regions.

We do not discard the usefulness of purely academic approach towards theoretical research and meticulous empirical analysis, but these are well covered by a number of respectful journals published abroad and in our country. Nevertheless, we sometimes make exceptions for interesting reviews in certain fields of the economic theory. We are glad to mark the projects successfully accomplished in 2007 - S. Afontsev's Political Markets and Economic Policy and V. Matvienko's Resources, Institutes, and Economic Growth.

We do not conceal that in request selecting we have certain preferences. All other factors being the same, we tend to select representatives of regional rather than capital-based research centers. First, we take into consideration unequal competition: Moscow and St. Petersburg offer broader research and fund-raising opportunities; secondly, Russian regions must develop faster to catch up with the two major cities, so they badly need modern social-economic investigations and research school development.

We hope that, our efforts in selecting projects for funding and implementing them stimulate creativity and revelation of research potential in Russian scientists, thus justifying the name of our Foundation.

A. B. Pomansky, director of the Human Capital Foundation

G. Y. Trofimov, director of the Human Capital Foundation

Back

О программе "Экономика"

Программа грантов в области экономики была создана с целью поддержки оригинальных исследовательских проектов. Вначале мы пошли по стандартному пути: конкурс проектов и финансирование победителей, при этом работа участников проектов сводилась к написанию отчетов. Однако при таком подходе результаты исследований далеко не всегда оказываются доступны широкой аудитории, хотя могут в дальнейшем трансформироваться в научные статьи и другие труды. Поэтому нам захотелось увидеть более ощутимые плоды деятельности Фонда. В 2004 году было решено изменить формат программы Экономика, придав ей большую целевую направленность. Конечным результатом проекта должна была стать подготовка к публикации монографии.

Как показали прошедшие четыре года, данный подход хорошо согласуется с мотивацией соискателей. Любой серьезный исследователь желал бы подытожить свои многолетние труды в виде монографии. Еще более желательно для автора (и для руководства Фонда), чтобы продукт его  труда не пылился на прилавках, а моментально с них исчезал, стимулируя издателей к дополнительным переизданиям. Именно о таком ярком конечном результате шла речь.

Но как его достичь, если магазины Москвы и других городов завалены книжной продукцией?  Конкуренция за внимание читателя чрезвычайно жесткая, и не так легко выделиться в таких, например, областях как бухучет, менеджмент, учебной литературе по микро- и макроэкономике и т.д. Иногда кажется, что производство таких книг поставлено на поток, по аналогии с детективной литературой.

Поэтому акцент был сделан на оригинальность тематики, имеющей практическую значимость для России. Конечно, акцент делался и на компетентности участников, и на соответствии их заявок научным критериям. Нам было важно представлять, насколько глубоко авторы «сидят» в своей теме. По личным беседам с соискателями (чьи заявки были предварительно одобрены) мы могли составить впечатление о данной стороне дела. Приятно отметить, что в большинстве случаев мы не ошиблись.

В качестве примера хотелось бы привести самую первую монографию, с которой началась работа программы Экономика в новом формате.  Это очень серьезная работа про исламскую экономику, написанная двумя специалистами по экономической истории. Сколько разговоров велось и ведется о роли ислама в современном мире! На эту тему допускается множество спекуляций, не вполне корректных (чего стоят псевдопророчества о грядущем столкновении цивилизаций и пр.). Но мы не встречали ранее объективного, скрупулезного и в то же время всестороннего научного анализа экономик, базирующихся на ценностях мусульманской религии. Не успела книга Н. Ульченко и Н.Мамедовой «Особенности экономического развития современных мусульманских государств (на примере Турции и Ирана) выйти из печати, как она моментально разошлась. При кажущейся специфике темы, она привлекла широкий круг читателей.

Та же приятная судьба постигла и другие издания, вышедшие к настоящему времени: книги А. Разумова и М. Ягодкиной «Бедность в современной России»,  В.Ратушняка и В. Кумпана «Очерки социально-экономического развития Северо-Западного Кавказа в условиях рыночной экономики». Совсем недавно вышла из печати еще одна книга, написанная и изданная на средства Фонда: «Трудовая миграция в СНГ и странах Балтии. Тенденции, последствия, регулирование» С. Рязанцева.

Во многих отбираемых заявках нас интересуют социально-экономические и гуманитарные проблемы на стыке многих наук, включая историю, географию, социологию, культурологию и т.д. Нам также интересны проекты, нацеленные на исследование социально-экономического развития конкретных регионов России.

Мы не отрицаем полезность чисто академического подхода для теоретических изысканий и дотошного эмпирического анализа, но для этого существует большое количество солидных журналов, издаваемых за рубежом и в нашей стране. Тем не менее иногда мы делаем исключение для интересных обзорных работ в некоторых областях экономической теории. Отметим успешно завершенные в 2007 году проекты С. Афонцева «Политические рынки и экономическая политика» и В. Матвиенко «Ресурсы, институты, экономический рост».

Мы не скрываем, что при отборе заявок следуем определенным приоритетам. При прочих равных стараемся отдавать предпочтение представителям региональных, а не столичных исследовательских центров. Во-первых, необходимо учитывать неравные условия конкуренции: в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге больше возможностей для исследований и научных контактов, да и проще найти источники финансирования проектов. Во-вторых, регионам России необходимо развиваться более быстрыми темпами, чтобы преодолеть отставание от обоих столиц. Они гораздо больше нуждаются в современных социально-экономических исследованиях и развитии научных школ.

Очень надеемся, что, организуя конкурс проектов и их реализацию, мы стимулируем творческую активность и раскрытие научного потенциала российских ученых, оправдывая тем самым название нашего Фонда.

Директор фонда «Научный потенциал» Поманский А.Б.

Директор фонда «Научный потенциал» Трофимов Г. Ю.

Возврат к списку