Andrei Vavilov

Andrey VavilovAndrey Vavilov is a successful Russian businessman and former politician with expertise in economics and finance.

Having graduated from the Moscow Institute of Management as a cyber-economist in 1983, Andrey Vavilov went on to write two theses in economics at the Central Economics and Mathematics Institute of the Russian Academy of Science, for his Ph. D in 1985 and his D. Sc. in 2002.

Since 1992 Mr. Vavilov has been highly involved in Russia's economic policy. As the first Deputy Finance Minister from November 1992 to 1997, his responsibilities included working out and implementation of efficient macroeconomic policy, federal budgeting and liaising with international finance institutions such as International Monetary Fund and World Bank. In 1995-1997, Vavilov represented the Government at the Council of Federation of Russia.

Andrey Vavilov was also one of the founders of Russia's public debt market, first domestic (GKO), then foreign (Eurobonds). As the first Deputy Finance Minister, he was in charge of issue of Russia's first eurobonds in 1996-1997 and the Finance Ministry bonds. This market thrown open, public debt management became one of Mr. Vavilov's top priorities as the first Deputy Finance Minister. In 1997, he was the President of the International Financial Company bank (MFK Bank), presently a member of Rosbank, which is part of the Societe Generale group. In 1998-1999, Vavilov worked a financial advisor at the Gazprom Board. Afterwards, Vavilov headed the Board of Directors at the Severnaya Neft company. Since 2002 till March 2010, he was representing the Penza region Legislative Assembly at the Council of Federation. In 2010 Dr. Vavilov became the Chairman of board of directors of the company SuperOx, an innovative research and production company, operating since 2006. SuperOx is one of the leading world centers of gathering intellectual capital in nanotechnologies research in general, and high temperature superconductivity in particular. Since 2010 he is a member of the Commission for Modernisation and Technological Development of Russia`s Economy.

After leaving his post as the Deputy Minister in 1997, Mr. Vavilov headed the Institute for Financial Studies; presently he is the IFS Academic Director.

Since 2007 he is a Visiting Senior Scholar at Penn State University; since 2008 - a Co-director of the Center for the Study of Auctions, Procurements and Competition Policy at Penn State (CAPCP) and a Scientific Advisor at the Center for Research on International Financial and Energy Security (CRIFES).

Vavilov's research interests encompass public finance and public debt management. The results of his research have been presented in more than 40 publications including the book Public Debt: Lessons from the Crisis and Principles of Management that explores what trends could have been changed to avoid the August 1998 crisis.

Extensive research expertise and public service experience enable Andrey Vavilov and the Institute team to timely spot the problems and work out efficient counter-measures and recommendations.

Андрей Вавилов

Andrey VavilovОснователь фонда «Научный потенциал» - Андрей Петрович Вавилов, бизнесмен и бывший политик с большим опытом в области экономики и финансов.

После окончания Московского института управления в 1983 г. поступил в аспирантуру этого же института и в 1986 г. защитил диссертацию кандидата экономических наук. С 1985-го по 1992 г. занимался научно-исследовательской деятельностью в Центральном экономико-математическом институте и Институте проблем рынка.

С 1992 г. А.П. Вавилов активно вовлечен в российскую экономическую политику. С ноября 1992 г. по 1997 г. являлся первым заместителем министра финансов. В сферу ответственности Вавилова входила разработка и реализация эффективной макроэкономической политики, решение проблем федерального бюджета и выстраивание отношений с международными финансовыми организациями, такими как Международный валютный фонд и Международный банк. В 1995-97 гг. являлся представителем Правительства в Совете Федерации РФ.

А.П. Вавилов был также одним из основателей рынка российского государственного долга, сначала внутреннего (ГКО) и затем иностранного (еврооблигации). В качестве первого заместителя министра финансов он отвечал за организацию выпуска первых российских еврооблигаций в 1996-1997 гг. и облигаций Минфина. После запуска этого рынка управление государственным долгом было одной из приоритетных задач А.П.Вавилова на посту первого заместителя министра. В 1997 г. занимал должность Президента банка «Международная финансовая компания» (МФК), который в настоящее время в составе Росбанка является частью группы Societe Generale. В 1998-99 гг. был советником правления РАО «Газпром» по финансовым вопросам. После работы в «Газпроме» А.П. Вавилов возглавлял Совет Директоров ОАО «Северная нефть». С 2002 г. по март 2010 г. А.П. Вавилов являлся членом Совета Федерации от Законодательного собрания Пензенской области. В марте 2010 г. стал Председателем совета директоров ЗАО «СуперОкс», инновационной научно-производственной компании, действующей с 2006 г.  и являющейся одним из ведущих мировых центров генерации интеллектуального капитала в области исследований на наноуровне, в частности, по тематике высокотемпературной сверхпроводимости. С июля 2010 года - член рабочей группы Комиссии по модернизации и технологическому развитию экономики России при Президенте РФ.

После ухода из Министерства финансов в 1997 г. Андрей Петрович возглавил Институт финансовых исследований, где в настоящее время является научным руководителем.

C 2007 г. он также является приглашенным старшим исследователем Университета штата Пенсильвания, а с 2008 г. - директором Центра по изучению аукционов, закупок и политики поддержки конкуренции Университета штата Пенсильвания (CAPCP) и научным советником Центра по изучению международной финансовой и энергетической безопасности (CRIFES).

В сфере научных интересов Вавилова А.П. - изучение проблем государственных финансов и управления государственным долгом. Результаты своих исследований Андрей Петрович изложил более чем в 40 публикациях. В том числе в  книге «Государственный долг: уроки кризиса и принципы управления», в которой подробно описаны те тенденции, изменив которые мы смогли бы избежать кризиса в августе 1998 г.

Большой опыт научно-исследовательской деятельности и государственной службы позволяют Вавилову А.П. и всему Институту вовремя распознавать проблемы и оперативно разрабатывать комплекс эффективных мер и рекомендаций.